Actual College Shopping List (<400 Items)

Actual College Shopping List (<400 Items)

I always see “back to college” lists that are like 400 items long, which is overwhelming and unhelpful to everyone. If you have to be told to bring a toothbrush to college, you shouldn’t be going. But there are some items I would really recommend bringing. Here’s my dos and don’ts:

Bring:

  1. Twin size foam mattress topper. (Therapedic, 3inch) I have a sensitive back and way less than $300 to spend on a mattress topper. This is my pick.
  2. Organizers. Firstly, your dorm/sorority house room/apartment will be small, so if you bring too much crap there is no device on the planet that can make it fit. To make use of every inch, I recommend an over-the-door shoe hanger, Huggable hangers, and a cube organizer system.
  3. Keurig. I own the family size one which I love because I’m lazy and don’t like to refill the water tower. I didn’t use this in the sorority house because one was already supplied.
  4. Medicine. This is probably the most important item on the list. I am always sick at school. I keep lots of cold, allergy, and stomach medicine on hand because there’s nothing worse than not having it when you need it. I also keep a lacrosse ball in my medicine basket for rolling out knots in my shoulders after a long night of studying.
  5. Slippers. At home, my mom likes to keep the house at 76 degrees, so I am frequently cold at school. If you live in the sorority house, you will be annoyed that you have to put shoes on to go on the main level and get breakfast. These are my “shoes.”
  6. Wall art. Curating my wall art brings me a lot of joy. Let this be your excuse to paint something or take advantage of 50% off wall art at Hobby Lobby.
  7. Credit card phone case. I lost my student ID seven times before I bought this.
  8.  Iphone speaker. No one ever has one of these and it is essential to a good time.
  9. Corkscrew.
  10. Printer. I know this is controversial but I am pro-printer– if you are ok with being the girl with the printer. I am, and sometimes people will bring me snacks or like a dollar to use my printer. It’s a good set up.
  11. My Little Steamer. Stop looking a mess today!
  12. Towel wrap with velcro. These are good for commuting to the shower and also sitting in bed post-shower for two hours, which I have only heard about second hand and have never done myself.

Don’t bring:

  1. A lot of clothes you bought the summer before college. Your style will change and you will sell them for $11.96 at Plato’s Closet.
  2. Ice cream. Responsible for at least 30% of my freshman 15.
  3. Every item you own. Seriously, it won’t fit. Throw some stuff away.

 

Leave a comment