Finals Motivation: They Don’t Think It Be Like It Is, But It Do

Finals Motivation: They Don’t Think It Be Like It Is, But It Do

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.12.21 PM

We’ve arrived at the end of the semester, which means it’s time for Christmas cocktail parties, study snacks, and still wearing shorts because it is Alabama and seasons are but a societal construct. Most importantly, it’s time to crack down on classes and finally learn everything I put off learning since I had my last tests. Last year, especially, I found myself wondering in the days leading up to finals, “Why me?” I had a Calc 3 teacher who I can only describe as Satan incarnate. I had four cumulative finals. Everywhere I went, people were playing with dogs, eating crawfish, and listening to jam bands while I had to stay inside and watch video after video trying to understand “curl.” It felt downright cruel.

I have always loved school, but that doesn’t mean I have always enjoyed it.  In fact, though I love to learn, I have really hated the structure of school at various points in my life. Still, three ideas have helped me survive the hardest times in my educational career; this is what I want to share in the days leading up to finals. My keys to success aren’t study methods (cram if you want to– I do) but general ideas to help motivate, inspire, and direct efforts.

  1. Focus. My motto for pretty much all of high school was “I will because I have to,” which doesn’t roll off the tongue and is actually grammatically incorrect, but the substance is there. There’s not a lot of wiggle room in a motto like that: it doesn’t ask if I can, it doesn’t ask what I want. This motto got me through my junior year, when I (unwisely) took seven AP classes and also helped me survive literally any time I had to run (any speed or distance) for soccer. The corporate version of this saying is “Just Do It,” but I like mine better not only because I thought of it but also because it involves the next idea, which is:
  2. Dream big, do a little. The “because I have to” part of the motto implies some greater goal, which I think is imperative to success. Pick something, and aim for it, then decide all the little steps you need to take to achieve it. I knew I wanted to get out of Kansas for college, and I knew I would need a large scholarship to make that goal financially practical. I knew my best shot was to become a National Merit Scholar, and I knew I had to score at least a 212 on the PSAT to have a chance. I knew I had to practice every day, until I scored well above a 212 every time I took the test. So I did. When my goals were firm and unmoving, everything else could wiggle, which brings me to:
  3. Treat yo’ self. Do three things that make you happy every day, even if you have a math test. Some days will still suck; that is unavoidable. Some days, the biggest treat I can afford is to put peppermint mocha creamer in my coffee instead of vanilla. Some days it’s painting my toenails or taking time to listen to Enya and just lay on my carpet for five minutes in the dark (which makes me sound mentally unhinged but I can’t think of another way to phrase it). Love yourself; treat yourself.

635596573662566007-247047096_tumblr_nb1ybjmxqh1r4grm0o1_500

Knee deep in coffee and flashcards,

Megan

P.S. Always remember that studying never looks as cool as it does on tumblr (see first image). It’s ok to have bad handwriting and a crappy desk and look like an actual dust bunny when you study. It doesn’t make you less smart or successful. This idea actually inspired the title of this post but I didn’t get around to mentioning it until now. As Elle Woods said, “What you want is right in front of you.” Chase it.

Last week: Moving into Your “Third Place”

Coming soon: End of year wrap-up, probably, maybe

One thought on “Finals Motivation: They Don’t Think It Be Like It Is, But It Do

Leave a comment